Reviewing others “Griptape art.”

Is it functional and cool looking?

Doing griptape art is an art within itself. The surface is rough and unforgiving.

I recently had an inquiry to do a grip job for a kid out in California. All I want is for my product to be functional and cool looking at the same time. I will be comparing my methods with other bloggers methods and maybe I’ll pick some tips up on the way. On the other hand you guys can pick things up from me too 🙂

To begin here is a short video showing how I do a basic grip-art job, where the client wants a basic icon graphic.

Now compared to my style let’s review 🙂 Cut out & keep out. They used the spray paint method, and also really push that the griptape will be

less abrasive on my skateboarding shoe’s”

For some people this may be a plus or may be a minus. In my case I think it lessen the value of the product. One thing I do like is that the author puts in a time estimate & a material list on the page, very nice addition. 🙂 This is great visually, the organizational pattern is something I may incorporate into my blog.

Next, he begins to take us step by step through his process, I like this it give the reader a visual of advancement and feeling of progress, nice. In his style he likes to pain the black griptape white as a priming method. I also do this, so I approve, so far looking good.

Here’s where we start to really differ. He then has a “repeated process” of laying down colors of spray paint. In my opinion, this build up of paint makes the grip less “grippy” and counter-intuitive of its purpose. I wouldn’t over do it, be LIGHT with your paint. (unless you want barely grippy griptape)

For the rest of the blog, he expands on taping methods, and spraying of paint in layers revealing different sections of color he blocked off. Through I may add, taping and laying paint does come out to a nice design, if ur into flannels and Christmas themes ;). Lastly, talks about his touch up skills with the black paint and then shows the finished product.

All in all, his design was nice and creative, very colorful and tasteful. only downfall is the amount of paint layering decreases the grippyness of your skateboard.

Next week were going to get digital so stay tuned for more on Zee’s creative innovations.

Leave a comment