Custom griptape gives your board personality

Last week we talked about shoes, but now we are going to move on to some sporty action, skateboarding! This sport has been with me since I was six and I love it! Today I’ll talk about one of my favorite past times.

For a while now I’ve always customized my grip tape on my skateboard. It takes me forever to actually beat my skateboard into the ground. Most people break their skateboards relatively quickly because they’re so hesh. I’m pretty light on my feet, I guess. I don’t do anything too crazy, well crazy enough to break it, anyway, I hate jumping down things and I’m pretty careful not to mess it up because skateboards cost like $40+ each time you break it. So I like to give my board some personality on this long journey we will be on together. Plus it’s nice to have something cool to look down at for 3 or more months 🙂

What I started with

I was working with scraps, sometimes you just got to make it work. So first I started with the most important parts the nose and tail of the board.

Nose and tail covered

Next I moved on to the creative “stretching” of the materials I had left. Which was some shitty grade C griptape, and scraps from previous grip jobs I had lying around. (clear, multicolor, and scraps) I put it all together like trying to make the lace together a puzzle piece that clearly does not fit. Overall, I think it came out okay, with all the things I had working against me. To see better grip-jobs I do follow me on my business instagram accound @blkgirlgrip. There you can see timelapse of artwork I’ve done and more!

Im going to go research and see what other designs people come up with. I really like doing this for my own inspiration on future skate deck designs I make. I call it creative exploration 😉 don’t worry I’m sure to tag them if I end up emulating their gripjob, I swear!

done

Leave a comment